Board of GovernorsThe Board of Governors came together for its first meeting in the afternoon of 30 November, following the successful conclusion of the first session of IACA’s Assembly of Parties. The Board appointed Martin Kreutner, former Chair and Executive Secretary of IACA, as Dean for a four-year term.


The Board of Governors includes 11 members, nine elected by the Assembly itself and two appointed by Austria and the United Nations Office on Drugs and Crime (UNODC) as  initiating partners. The other Board members were nominated by Bolivia (Plurinational State of), Bulgaria, Israel, Malaysia, Mexico, Thailand, Republic of Korea, Romania, and the Russian Federation. As no African state is yet a Party to IACA's founding treaty, the Assembly of Parties renewed its invitation vis-à-vis African countries to ratify the agreement at the earliest convenience so that stable geographical diversity can be ensured with all organs of the Academy.

The Board elected Margarita Popova, the Vice President of Bulgaria, as its Chairperson and Dato’ Sri Abu Kassim bin Mohamed, Chief Commissioner of the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission, as its Vice Chair. Pursuant to IACA’s founding treaty, the Board has the mandate to, among others, decide on the strategy, policies and guidelines for the Academy’s activities, adopt rules governing the operations of the Academy, and elect the members of the advisory boards.

The second meeting of the Board of Governors is foreseen for early spring 2013. For a list of Board members, click here.