With the year 2010 coming to an end, IACA is honoured to welcome Greece, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation and Nigeria as the Academy’s four newest Founding Members to the IACA Agreement.

On 28 and 29 December, respectively, H.E. Panayotis Zografos, Ambassador of Greece to the United Nations (Vienna), and H.E. Yoon Jo Shim Hon, Ambassador of the Republic of Korea to the United Nations (Vienna) laid their signatures on behalf of their States to the IACA Agreement. Furthermore, also on 29 December, H.E. Sergey Nechaev, Ambassador of the Russian Federation to Austria, signed the Founding Agreement. Finally, on 30 December the Hon. Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Nigeria, H.E. Mohammed Bello Adoke, made his State the 53rd Signatory by signing the IACA Agreement in the Austrian Ministry for European and International Affairs in Vienna.

The first round of signatures closed on 31 December 2010. As of 1 January 2011, UN Member States and international organizations have the possibility to accede to the IACA Agreement.

The 53 Founding Member landmark reached has made IACA – at least with regard to the number of Signatories and Founding Members - one of the most successful international initiatives ever. We are thus more than honoured and grateful by this impressive mandate of the international community. It also highlights the importance of joint efforts to prevent and fight corruption on all levels.