EPAC Celebrates 10 Years

This year marks the 10th anniversary of the European Partners against Corruption (EPAC); the largest independent network of anti-corruption authorities and police oversight bodies on the European continent.

What had started out as an Austrian-Belgian vision in 2001 turned into a reality in 2004. With the support of the EU’s AGIS framework programme to help practitioners and law enforcement officials from EU Member States and candidate countries set up networks to exchange information and best practices, EPAC was formally inaugurated.

Over the years, the network grew to include authorities from new EU Member States, candidate countries, Norway, and the Republic of Moldova. In addition, to formalize cooperation between authorities mandated with the prevention of and fight against corruption in the EU, the European Council established the European contact-point network against corruption (EACN) in 2008, based on EPAC’s structures.

EPAC and EACN mostly work together as one. They bring together more than 80 police monitoring and inspection bodies and anti-corruption agencies with a wider remit from 34 states. The European Anti-Fraud Office (OLAF) is also a member of both.

EPAC/EACN’s efforts in promoting effective cooperation among operational entities, safeguarding the independence of national authorities, and developing common standards have received recognition from the European Union, the Council of Europe, the United Nations, as well as the wider international community.

The networks are currently presided over by Giovanni Kessler, Director-General of OLAF, and have been receiving secretarial support from IACA since 2011 on the basis of a Memorandum of Understanding.

For more information, visit www.epac-eacn.org.


Follow Us

Download our App






Laxenburg/Vienna, Austria  |  T: +43 2236 710 718 101

© 2021 IACA. Developed by IACA.